Life After Life (Atkinson)

Life After Life (Todd Family, 1)
Kate Atkinson, 2013
Little, Brown & Co.
529 pp.
ISBN-13: 978

On a cold and snowy night in 1910, Ursula Todd is born, the third child of a wealthy English banker and his wife. Sadly, she dies before she can draw her first breath.

On that same cold and snowy night, Ursula Todd is born, lets out a lusty wail, and embarks upon a life that will be, to say the least, unusual. For as she grows, she also dies, repeatedly, in any number of ways. Clearly history (and Kate Atkinson) have plans for her: In Ursula rests nothing less than the fate of civilization.

Wildly inventive, darkly comic, startlingly poignant—this is Kate Atkinson at her absolute best, playing with time and history, telling a story that is breathtaking for both its audacity and its endless satisfactions . (From the publisher.)

A God in Ruins, the companion book to Life After Life, was published in 2015.

Site by BOOM Boom Supercreative

LitLovers © 2022