LitPicks Book Reviews—February 2014

Theme—Marriage: For better or for . . . . . .
...for worse? If
Gone Girl gave you a thrill, these three novels centered on unsettling marriages will too. The fun is in not knowing whether she's nuts or he is or...maybe someone else.
 
Labels: A Lighter Touch

lighter-touch-6

Before We Met
Lucie Whitehouse, 2014
288 pp.

Book Review by Molly Lundquist
February 2014

In the vein of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep, Whitehouse's book dissects a seemingly happy marriage with dire results. In fact, the question these three books pose is whether we can truly know another being—even one we wake up to each morning.

When husband Mark misses his plane back to London and doesn't phone in, Hannah begins to worry. Her concern is heightened when Mark's assistant, and his business partner, both tell her they were under the impression that Mark had taken her, Hannah, to Rome for the weekend. Rome? For the weekend? It's news to Hannah.

 

wonderfully-written-4

Before I Go to Sleep
S.J. Watson, 2011
363 pp.

Book Review by Molly Lundquist
February 2014
Christine Lucas wakes up every morning to find a strange man in her bed—with no idea as to who he is or how he got there. More disturbing: a different woman peers out at her from the mirror, much older than the one who looked back at her the night before.

For Christine, each night's sleep wipes out all memory of the previous day. Every morning for the past 20 years—since the hit-and-run accident—she must relearn her world from scratch: the husband beside her, the house she finds herself in, the clothes she wears, and most of all herself.

 
Labels: Great Works

great-works-4

Rebecca
Daphne du Maurier, 1938
384 pp.

Book Review by Molly Lundquist
February 2014

Frst published over 75 years ago, Rebecca remains one of the best loved of modern Gothics: a genre known for its old manses and heavy atmospherics. The sense of foreboding in du Maurier's book is brought to bear on an uneasy marriage—of a naive, untested bride and her sophisticate husband, a man twice her age.

In truth, Rebecca is the story of two marriages, one in the present...and one in the recent past. Our poor heroine finds herself competing for the affections of her husband with his dead wife...who seems all too alive.

 

Page 2 of 79

Site by BOOM Boom Supercreative

LitLovers © 2014